65daysofstatic ∞ The Distant And Mechanised Glow Of Eastern European Dance Parties EP

o1367549.jpg

rate
myspax

1. Dance Parties (Distant)
2. Dance Parties (Mechanized)
3. Goodbye, 2007
4. Antique Hyper Mall

So, 65daysofstatic, when did you start making dance music? Not that I’m complaining at all, I’m just wondering, why the sudden change? Your math-rock, post-rock, electronic, what have you, was absolutely amazing and basically blew my mind many times over, but now you’re compelling me to…shake my booty. Your two “Dance Parties” songs are awesome, I must admit, and I find it admirable that you can so easily step out of the bounds of your previous music to make something for the dancefloor, yet still stick to your electronic math-rock roots. Bravo, sirs, bravo. Okay, so that is a mere half of this EP, and I see that the last two songs here, we have gone back what people know you best for. Alright, so this is a solid EP, and completely fluid from start to finish. I like what is being done here, and only seeks to prove a) the immense talent of 65daysofstatic (though, most of us should already know about this) and b) that lines between how genres are looked at can be crossed and bent around in a rewarding manner.

4.6/5

download

~ by Babaganoosh on March 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
